• 1.
    Don't Be That Way
  • 2.
    I've Got a Feeling I'm Falling/A...
  • 3.
    Honeysuckle Rose
  • 4.
    Shiny Stockings
  • 5.
    Take the "A" Train
  • 6.
    Flying Home
  • 7.
    In a Mellow Tone
  • 8.
  • 9.
    Ben's Blues
  • 10.
    I Can't Give You Anything But Love
  • 11.


The performances on this live set (recorded in Switzerland) were not initially released until 2001. Pianist Teddy Wilson and tenor saxophonist Ben Webster had played together on and off for decades, including in Wilson's 1939 big band. The first six selections on this CD are actually by Wilson's trio (with bassist Isla Eckinger and drummer Peter Giger) and are fairly typical of Wilson's work during his last 30 years. He runs for the umpteenth time through such songs as "Don't Be That Way," "Honeysuckle Rose," and "Flying Home." But when Webster makes the group a quartet on the final five numbers, some sparks fly as he digs into "In a Mellotone," "Stardust," "Ben's Blues," "I Can't Give You Anything But Love," and "Sunday." Although not classic or essential, this music is certainly enjoyable and shows that Ben Webster still had a lot of life left in his playing this late in his career. ~ Scott Yanow, Rovi

SoundHound on your mobile phone
midomi.com:  English |  Español |  Français |  Italiano |  Deutsch |  Português |  Polski |  简体中文 |  한국어 |  midomi.co.jp:  日本語